MVA and BJP lawmakers housed in five-star hotels to avoid cross-voting

MLC polls: MVA and BJP lawmakers housed in five-star hotels to avoid cross-voting |

In the context of the defeat of the Shiv Sena’s second candidate in the Rajya Sabha elections, the Congress and the NCP held separate meetings of their legislators and explained to them the voting procedure for 10 seats of the Council of State planned for the June 20. Both parties contact independents and smaller parties to get their votes for the victory of their two candidates each while Shiv Sena ensures the victory of his two candidates. Tourism Minister and Yuva Sena leader Aaditya Thackeray is camping with party lawmakers and independents and members of smaller parties hosted at the Westin Hotel in Powai and holding individual meetings.

On the other hand, Congress put its legislators in the Four Seasons hotel while the NCP legislators were housed in Trident. The BJP put its lawmakers in the Taj President where former chief minister Devendra Fadnavis and ex-minister Ashish Shekar briefed them on Saturday on the do’s and don’ts during the poll and were told to stay away. hotel until they leave for Monday to avoid any inconvenience in the wake of the weather bureau’s forecast of heavy rain and high tide. Three parties decided to bring in their lawmakers early in the morning after polls started at 9 a.m.

Three ruling partners have strictly instructed their legislators not to receive their personal assistants and relatives in their respective rooms with the serious aim of avoiding the leakage of secret information outside. Senior Congress Minister Balasaheb Thorat and Ashok Chavan have overseen poll strategy while NCP veterans including DCM Ajit Pawar and Water Resources Minister Jayant Patil are in constant contact with lawmakers and independents.

NCP leader Sharad Pawar addressed the party’s lawmakers today while Congress senior ministers Balasaheb Thorat and Ashok Chavan addressed the lawmakers’ meeting.

Meanwhile, DCM Ajit Pawar admitted that those who get 26 votes will win and those who don’t will be defeated. In all, 11 nominees are vying for 10 seats. ”MVA fielded 6 candidates against BJP’s five candidates for 10 council seats. I’ve been watching the news for two days and want to make it clear that we’re all working hard to get six MVA nominees elected,” he noted.

“10 out of 11 will be elected, one will be defeated, so this miracle is bound to happen. Those who don’t get the 26 votes (needed quota for victory) will lose,” Pawar said.

Pawar admitted that parties should respectfully request votes from independents. ”It’s true that the independents have been approached. I personally phoned many. Ashokrao Chavan and Balasaheb Thorat also spoke to many. Not only are the first and second preference votes important, but the third, fourth and fifth preference votes are also crucial to the victory of MVA’s sixth nominee,” he said.

(To receive our daily E-paper on WhatsApp, please Click here. To receive it on Telegram, please Click here. We allow the PDF of the document to be shared on WhatsApp and other social media platforms.)

Comments are closed.